Treaty of Lisbon (2007)

Disciplines: Law, Political Science

Official name: Treaty of Lisbon amending the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community

The treaty signed on 13 December 2007 by the European Union member states. The treaty introduced many of the changes which were included in the unratified Draft Treaty Establishing a Constitution for Europe (TCE) (a.k.a. European Constitution).

The treaty came into effect on 1 December 2009.

The Treaty amended the Treaty of Rome (1957) and the Maastricht Treaty (1992).

The amendments the treaty introduced include but are not limited to making Euro the official currency of the European Union, and changing unanimity requirement in certain policy areas to double majority.


Facebook Twitter