Schengen Agreement

Disciplines: Law, Political Science

A treaty signed on 14 June 1985 between the five out of the ten member-states of the European Economic Community to create a border-free zone, which is called the Schengen Area.

The signatories of the agreement were Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany. To signify the meaning of the treaty, it was signed on a boat on the part of the river Moselle, nearby the Luxembourg town Schengen, where the borders of France, Germany and Luxembourg meet.

The Amsterdam Treaty (1997) made the Schengen Agreement a part of the community acquis. Therefore, new members of the European Union do not have to ratify it.


Facebook Twitter