Merger Treaty (1965)

Disciplines: Law, Economics, Political Science

Also known as: Brussels Treaty

Official name: Treaty establishing a Single Council and a Single Commission of the European Communities

The treaty signed on 8 April 1965 by six Western European states (Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany) that merged the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC), European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), and the European Economic Community under the roof of the European Economic Community.

The treaty came into effect on 1 July 1967.


Facebook Twitter