Maastricht Treaty (1992)

Disciplines: Law, Economics, Political Science

Official name: The Treaty on European Union

The treaty signed on 7 February 1992 by the twelve member states of the European Community, and established the European Union.

The treaty came into effect on 1 November 1993.

Maastrict Treaty is partially amended by the Amsterdam Treaty (1997), the Treaty of Nice (2001), and the Treaty of Lisbon (2007).

The Maastricht Treaty includes criteria, which are commonly referred to as the Maastricht criteria. These criteria set economic standards for the member states to abide by. The treaty also paved the way for a single European currency.


Facebook Twitter