European Parliament

Discipline: Political Science

Usually abbreviated as: Europarl, EP

The lower chamber of the European legislative branch. (The lower chamber is the Council of the European Union.)

The European Parliament (EP) is the primary legislative body of the European Union located at Strasbourg, France. It convenes on a monthly basis. It is composed of more than 750 directly-elected members, who are called Members of the European Parliament, or MEPs.

The EP has its roots in the consultative assembly of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) called Common Assembly. At the time, it was composed of representatives from the national parliaments of the member states. It was renamed European Parliamentary Assembly in 1957, and European Parliament in 1962. Since 1979, its members are directly elected.


Facebook Twitter