European Atomic Energy Community

Discipline: Economics

Usually abbreviated as EAEC

Also known as: Euratom

The international organization created by the Euratom Treaty (1957) by six Western European states (Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany). The Treaty of Rome (1957) establishing the European Economic Community was signed the same day.

The objective of the European Atomic Energy Community was to reduce dependence on both oil imports and the depleting the coal reserves.

The European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC) and the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was eventually merged under the roof of the European Economic Community by the Merger Treaty (1965).


Facebook Twitter