African Union

Disciplines: Economics, Political Science

Usually abbreviated as: A.U.

A union of 54 African states based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. All African states are members of the African Union (AU), except Morocco.

The AU was established in 2002, replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

Similar to the OAU, AU has objectives that revolve around promoting the social, political, and economic well-being of Africa as a continent.

The members of AU meet semi-annually at the Assembly of the African Union.


Facebook Twitter